Government Building
Floor VI, No.605A
Street:Mother Theresa n.n.
10 000 Pristina,Kosovo
Tel:+381 38 200 14 448, 038 200 14 612
[email protected]

Photo Gallery

Quick Facts

- Official Languages in Kosovo are Albanian and Serbian.

- Language of any community that constitutes five (5) per cent of the total population in any municipality will have the status of an official language.

- Language of any community that constitutes three (3) or more per cent of the total population in any municipality or has been traditionally spoken in a municipality can be used as a language in official use.
- In Prizren municipality, Turkish language has a status of an official language, as the traditional language.

Duties and Responsibilities

Language Policy Board is responsible to:

• Provide institutional support for the development, implementation and strengthening of language policies;
• Meet at least twice a year to review the report and language policy recommendations formulated by the Language Commissioner and propose measures for their implementation to the
• Government;
• Review and asses on an annual basis the performance of the Office according to the procedure determined in the Rules of Procedure of the Board;
• Review any complaint of the Language Commissioner regarding alleged interference with the independence of the Office, either by the Office of the Prime Minister, the government or another institution, and take a decision on the complaint within ninety (90) days and inform the
• Competent Committee of the Assembly and the Prime Minister.

Members of the Board are appointed for a term of four (4) years.

The Board is composed of twenty (20) members representing the institutions, service providers and linguistic communities, specified in the regulations of the Language Commissioner Office. Representatives of institutions shall be officials of senior management level or management level:

1.   The Office of the Prime Minister;
2.   Ministry responsible for Public Administration;
3.   Ministry responsible for Local Government Administration;
4.   Ministry responsible for Education, Science and Technology;
5.   Ministry responsible for Communities and Return;
6.   Assembly of Kosovo;
7.   Kosovo Judicial Council;
8.   Directorate-General of the Police;
9.   Policy and Monitoring Unit for Publicly Owned Enterprises;
10. Correctional Services;
11. Association of Kosovo Municipalities;
12. University of Prishtinë/Priština;
13. Representative of language  Albanian community;
14. Representative of language Serbian community;
15. Representative of language Bosniak community;
16. Representative of language Turkish community;
17. Representative of language Romani  community;
18. Representative of language Croatian community;
19. Representative of language Montenegrin community;
20. Representative of language Gorani community.