Government Building
Floor VI, No.605A
Street:Mother Theresa n.n.
10 000 Pristina,Kosovo
Tel:+381 38 200 14 448
[email protected]

Photo Gallery

Quick Facts

- Official Languages in Kosovo are Albanian and Serbian.

- Language of any community that constitutes five (5) per cent of the total population in any municipality will have the status of an official language.

- Language of any community that constitutes three (3) or more per cent of the total population in any municipality or has been traditionally spoken in a municipality can be used as a language in official use.
- In Prizren municipality, Turkish language has a status of an official language, as the traditional language.

The Language Policy Board held a meeting


3 September 2018

Today, at the meeting of the Language Policy Board were discussed several important issues.
It was discussed about the procedure for selecting and appointing the Language Commissioner, since in December 2018 the mandate of the Language Commissioner expires, so the board agreed to continue with regular procedures.
According to the chairperson, Mr Hysni Shala, it is important to respect all legal deadlines so that there is no delay in appointing the commissioner.

On the other hand, the Language Commissioner, Mr Mladenovic presented to the board the sixth-month work report of the Office, where he presented some of the challenges but also concrete results in respecting the language rights and full implementation of the Law on the Use of Languages.

The Language Policy Board will hold the next meeting after two weeks.  

Office of the Language Commissioner was established in April 2012 under auspices of the Office of the Prime Minister, pursuant to Regulation br.07/2012. The Office is mandated to oversee the implementation of the law on languages, works with institutions to improve the implementation of the law and promote and protect the right on the use of the language of all communities in Kosovo.